Beecroft Public School

Respect, Responsibility, Excellence, Participation

Telephone02 9484 8844

Emailbeecroft-p.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Religion and ethics

NSW public schools offer special religious education and special education in ethics, delivered by approved providers wherever available.

During enrolment, you can choose a special religious education option for your child from the school’s available approved providers. You can withdraw your child from special religious education by selecting alternative meaningful activities, or special education in ethics if it’s available.

You can update your preference by writing to the school or through the online form available at participating schools.
 
Visit the department’s website for more information about religion and ethics. 

Special Religious Education (SRE) is provided in public schools by authorised representatives of approved religious groups for instruction in that faith. Parents who choose to withdraw their child from scripture must do so in writing.

SRE classes are offered at Beecroft Public School during the time allocated on Wednesday mornings.

Classes available at BPS are:

Anglican

Co-ordinator: Jeremy Morris    0433 375 766    jmorris@beecroftanglicans.org.au
Approved Provider: Christian Education Publications (CEP)   
Curriculum Link: https://whysre.com.au/sre-curriculum/cep-curriculum-overview/   

Baha'i

Co-ordinator: Niloofar Ashjari     0412 661 332    ashjari@optusnet.com.au
Approved Provider: http://bahai.org.au
Curriculum Link: http://bahai.org.au/index.php/what-bahais-do/building-vibrant-communities/spiritual-education-children/bahai-classes-in-state-schools/   

Buddhism

Co-ordinator: Ann Macarthur    (02) 9966 8893   education@buddhistcouncil.org
Approved Provider: Buddhist Council of New South Wales   
Curriculum Link: http://www.buddhistcouncil.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/BUDDHIST-SRE-Scope-and-Sequence-2018.pdf

Catholic

Co-ordinator: Tina Muscat    (02) 9484 1427    tina@bbcatholic.org.au
Approved Provider:  St Agatha's Parish
Curriculum Link: http://www.bbcatholic.org.au/parish-community/ministries/ccd/curriculum   

Ethics

Co-ordinator: Jess Naimo    0402 101 720    jnaimo@gmail.com  
Approved Provider: Primary Ethics
Curriculum Link: https://primaryethics.com.au/about-ethics-classes/our-curriculum/
Information for parents: https://primaryethics.com.au/parents/

Hindu Dharma

Co-ordinator: Akila Ramarathinam    0450 117 372    akilar@vhp.org.au
Approved Provider:  Vishra Hindu Parishad of Australia
Curriculum Link: http://www.vhp.org.au/content/sre-hindu-dharma-scripture-teachers-classes-nsw-public-school

Islamic

Co-ordinator: Ebtesam Elakhras    02 9708 0880    info@isre.org.au
Approved Provider:  Islamic Council of NSW

Curriculum Link:  https://www.isre.org.au/scope-k-6/

Presbyterian

Co-ordinator: Paul Harris    0437 041 566    paul@beecroftpresbyterian.org.au
Approved Provider:  Presbyterian Church of Australia in the state of NSW   
Curriculum Link: http://cepconnect.com.au/curriculum